Three McBride Councillors Resign

Prince George, BC, Canada / CKPG News
Three McBride Councillors Resign

The Village of McBride is now without a big portion of its Council.

Three of the four councillors resigned Friday, November 18th. Councillors Ralph Bezanson, Sharon Reichert, and Edith Tracey all stepped down. The only elected officials remaining are Mayor Loranne Martin and Councillor Rick Thompson.

In a release put out by Martin on Saturday, Council Administration says it contacted the Ministry of Community, Sport, and Cultural Development in accordance with Section 129 of the Community Charter, Quorum for Conducting Business.

Martin says it’s her understanding the Ministry will either issue an order that remaining Council members will constitute a quorum or will appoint qualified individuals until a by-election.

MLA for Prince George-Valemount, Shirley Bond says she contacted Community, Sport, and Cultural Development Minister Peter Fassbender the minute she was made aware of the resignations in McBride.  “He is considering his options, I don’t know what direction he will take, but obviously what’s important to me is that we find some resolution and next step,” Bond said. “We want to make sure that we are concentrating on issues like growing the economy and finding certainty in that community so this is a significant challenge and I know residents are very concerned and have reached out to me already.”

Bond says she will be speaking with Fassbender later today to receive an update. CKPG News has reached out to McBride Council, along with the three councillors who have stepped down to explain their decision. We are still awaiting responses.




Leave a Reply

Top Stories